Teaching with Pride, Learning with Confidence


The Governing Body consists of representatives of the local community, parents and staff and plays a vital part in the life of the school. The role of school governors is to work in partnership with the Head Teacher, teachers and staff to achieve the school’s vision and aims.

Governors have collective responsibility for determining, monitoring and keeping under review the broad policies, plans and procedures within which the school operates.

We, as a governing body, have three main objectives:

  • to support and challenge initiatives in school
  • to be ultimately accountable for the schools operation
  • to provide the strategic overview for the school

Working in partnership with our lead professionals we provide a framework for future development and identification of the improvement priorities to fully meet the needs of our current and future pupils.

The Governing Body of Kempshott Junior School consists of 10 members, each elected for a term of four years. If a governor wishes to extend their term they need to be re-elected. The current membership can be seen below.

The Governors meet at twice a term for the full Governing Body meeting.

The Governors undertake a regular programme of training and self-evaluation to ensure we are continually improving our effectiveness.

A copy of minutes of previous Governors' meetings is held in school for parents to view if they wish. 

Our Governors

Chair  Mrs W Harding
Vice Chair Mr P Warren
Staff Mrs F Craig (Head Teacher)
Mrs J Johnson (Admin Officer)
Co-opted Mrs S Clifton (Deputy Head Teacher)
Mr D Ward
Mrs D Sherrington
Parent Governor Mr K Galloway
Mrs J Emerson
Mrs S Shepherd
Clerk to the Governors Mrs K Rickman

Governors Pecuniary Interests

Governor & Role Business Interests
Fiona Craig
(Head Teacher)

Sally-Anne (Sam) Clifton

(Deputy Head Teacher)

Joanna Johnson
(Staff Governor)
Wendy Harding
(Local Authority Governor)
Works for Hampshire Music Service
Denise Sherrington
(Co-Opted Governor)
Works for Hampshire County Council

David Ward

(Co-Opted Governor)

Owner of Blue Kite IT Consultancy
Kieron Galloway
(Parent Governor)
Wife is an LSA at the school
Paul Warren
(Co-Opted Governor)
Wife is a Lunchtime & Extended School Assisstant
Joanna Emerson
(Parent Governor)
Sarah Shepherd
(Parent Governor)
Works for Hampshire County Council
Kate Rickman
(Clerk to the Governors)
Works for Hampshire County Council